Lackawanna/Luzerne MPO

Transportation Study Technical and Coordinating Committee Meeting Special Meeting

December 18, 2024 Minutes

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE LLTS MPO FOR AN INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING OF EASTERN PENNSYLVANIA FREIGHT INFRASTRUCTURE PLAN ELEMENTS.

The virtual meeting opened at 10:02am.

Stephen Chiaramonte provided the presentation to the LLTS MPO regarding The Eastern Pennsylvania Freight Infrastructure Plan. The Eastern Pennsylvania Freight Infrastructure Plan is a regional effort aimed at mitigating the impacts of freight traffic and managing the future expansion of freight uses within Eastern Pennsylvania.

Mr. Chiaramonte discussed the purpose of the plan, the plan outline, outreach efforts, a regional action plan description, infrastructure improvements, policy recommendations, and next steps for the plan.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:45am.

LACKAWANNA-LUZERNE TRANSPORTATION STUDY MEETING MPO TECHNICAL-COORDINATING COMMITTEES

April 9th, 2024

COORDINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS	MEMBER PRESENT	ABSENT & PROXY NO PROXY PRESENT
PENNDOT Richard N. Roman, District 4-0 Office, Committee Vice-Chair Kristin Mulkerin, Central Office (Dean Roberts, PennDOT Central Office-Proxy)	X	
LACKAWANNA COUNTY Bill Gaughan (Board of Commissioners) Kristin Magnotta, Director of Planning & Economic Development	X	
<u>LUZERNE COUNTY</u> Romilda Crocamo, esq (Matthew Jones, Executive Director of Luzerne County Planning & Zoning – Permanent Proxy)	X	
<u>CITY OF HAZLETON</u> Jeffrey L. Cusat, Mayor - (Joshua Esposito, Hazleton City Engineering Technician - Permanent Proxy)		
<u>CITY OF SCRANTON</u> Paige Cognetti, Mayor - (Tom Reilly Jr., Reilly Associates-Permanent Proxy)		X
<u>CITY OF WILKES-BARRE</u> George Brown, Mayor - (Mark Barry, Director of		
Operations - Permanent Proxy)		X
TRANSIT REPRESENTATIVE - LACKAWANNA COUNTY Tim McGrath, COLTS Director	<u>Y</u>	X

TRANSIT REPRESENTATIVE - LUZERNE COUNTY		
Robert Fiume, LCTA Director, Committee Chair	X	
NON-Voting Members		
AVIATION REPRESENTATIVE		
Carl Beardsley, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport Director	X	
*PA NORTHE ACT DECIONAL DAM DOAD		
*PA NORTHEAST REGIONAL RAILROAD AUTHORITY	X	
Larry Malski, President		
*FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION		
Gene Porochniak, Community Planner	X	
	Λ	
*FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION (FTA)		
Timothy Lidiak, Project Manager		X
*DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC		
DEVELOPMENT		
Chris Chapman, Local Government Policy Specialist	X	

LLTS Technical Committee Members *Present:*

Dean Roberts,

PennDOT Central Office, Transportation Planning Manager

Susan Hazelton,

PennDOT District 4-0 Assistant District Executive for Design, Committee Vice-Chair

Gerard Babinski,

PennDOT District 4-0 District Bridge Engineer

Kristen Magnotta

Lackawanna County Director of planning and Economic Development

Barbara Idhaw

Lackawanna County, Engineering Consultant, Greenman-Pederson, Inc.

Mary Liz Donato,

Lackawanna County Planning Department Manager

Tom Reilly, Jr.,

Proxy for Scranton City Mayor, Paige Cognetti, Engineering Consultant, Reilly Associates

Mark Barry,

Proxy for Wilkes Barre Mayor, George Brown, Director of Operations

Kathy Bednarek,

Luzerne County Transportation Authority, (LCTA) Grants Coordinator

Kate McMahon

Permanent Proxy for Jeffrey Box, NEPA Alliance President/CEO

Dan Reese,

Executive Director, Luzerne County Planning and Zoning Authority

LLTS Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) Members Present:

Aaron Whitney, Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce Owen Worozbyt Lackawanna Heritage Valley Association

Non-Members Present:

Brian Funkhouser, Michael Baker

Casey Bottiger, Michael Baker

Candy Frye

Emma Pugh, PennDOT District 4-0

Eric Middleton, Lackawanna County Transportation Planning Manager

Jennifer Andes

Jennifer Pecora, Luzerne County Engineer

Jessica Edwards, Lackawanna County Regional Planning Manager

Joe Corcoran, Lackawanna Heritage Valley Association

Jonathan Shaw- NEPA Alliance

John Petrini, PennDOT District 4-0

Justin Batiuk-PennDOT

Julianne Lawson, PennDOT District 4-0

Koren Clark

Mary Roselle

Michele Bannon

Michele Sparich

Nick Vough

Paul Dunay, Lackawanna County Planning

Robert Manzella, Luzerne County Planning